All combat units which survived on the battlefield, will return on the base after the battle is over.
If the unit was killed while retreating, it will disappear. In addition, there is a retreat time right after the user clicked the "Retreat" button. During this time (7 sec) Units await for being teleported back to the ship. In this time they can be damaged and even killed.